First Day Excitement

foto

Hi everyone,

My name is Sannah van Balen and I have just had my first day as an intern at SCK.CEN (exciting times!!). I have been asked to contribute to this blog and share my experiences with you during my time at the company. I am a graduate from the University of Edinburgh with a BSc in physics and will continue my studies at the University of Cambridge in October, where I will be doing an MPhil in Nuclear Energy. I am particularly thrilled to start the masters as it combines the technological and management aspects of the industry.

As a girl obsessed with travelling and exploring new cultures, I have been moving around ever since I left high school. I have had the luck to spend an Erasmus year in Sydney and do an internship in Shanghai! Right now my adventure is taking place super close to my hometown at SCK.CEN, where I am working mainly on the preparations for the RICOMET Conference of 2016, together with people from many different countries. This year will be the second conference in the light of risk perception, communication and ethics of exposures to ionizing radiation and it will take place in Bucharest, Romania. The conference is very interesting as it draws together different stakeholders with different opinions and perspectives (from students to doctors to politicians). You can find out more about the focal points and details of this years conference on the website http://ricomet2016.sckcen.be/en

Today I have been sitting in on a conference call between some of the organizers and I have been slowly getting a better idea of what must be taken into account when organizing such a conference. It is all very exciting as the registration for the conference is opening up on the 12th of February already! There is still much to be done and I am looking forward to providing a helping hand in whatever way I can.

Let's communicate!